TDC2 2004: FF Angkoon and FF Unit

January 1st, 2004

FF Angkoon and FF Unit awarded Certificates of Excellence in type design by the Type Directors Club

The Type Directors Club Type Design Competition (TDC2) is widely regarded as the premiere venue for the world’s best in type design. The annual competition is judged each year by a new international panel of respected type designers. This year’s jury included Veronika Elsner, Josh Darden, Dmitry Krasny, Pablo Medina and Charles Nix. FF Angkoon, by [ Link missing ], and FF Unit, by Erik Spiekermann, were among the winners selected from more than 100 entries. The two FontFont originals will be published in Typography 25, the annual of the Type Directors Club, and will join a touring exhibit of typography to open this summer in New York City. The show will travel throughout North and South America, Australia, New Zealand, Europe, and East Asia.

The FontFont library is not new to the TDC2. Another FontFont family, FF Strada, won top honours last year in the 2003 competition.

FF Unit also won an award from the German Art Directors Club at their annual judging in March this year.